Posted by: highmountainmuse | January 13, 2009

The spring of life…

The big back yard...

The big back yard...

Forrest just read to us a poem a good friend and talented poet shared with him. 

How good it made me feel – so full of life, love and beauty, and appreciation for the amazing natural world all around us.  It left me floating with this line on my lips:

 

Dip your cup in the spring of life…

 

On a solitary snowshoe this Sunday, I went farther than planned, each step leading to one beyond, in a mindless, rhythmic, enchanting pace.  Although without thought or pressure or care.  During which time, my water bottle went dry, but I trusted to continue onward.

 

I came upon a little spring, having warmed its way through the snow on the southern slope of the hillside. A small dark patch in the sea of white, gently trickling with promise, a true oasis in a land we don’t consider such needs until those needs become imperative. I reached down and filled my bottle and savored the nectar of the sweet clean cold mountain water.

 

Such simple pleasures.  Such a magnificent world that holds us in her arms.

Responses

  1. You have left me floating with a line on my lips:

    “Such a magnificent world that holds us in her arms”.

    Wow, Gin. God has given you such an incredible gift. Keep writing. The world needs to hear what you have to say. What joy you bring!

  2. Thank you, Cindy. I can’t imagine asking to hear kinder words. That means so much to me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

