Posted by: highmountainmuse | January 26, 2009

What the winter brings, a poem by Gin Getz

storm coming

storm coming

 

Snow settles upon the mountain

Tucks us in for the season like a loving mother

Thick and heavy like arms wrapped around me

The mountain sleeps

Silence

Peace

Stillness and solitude

How many have ever heard such quiet?

Are you afraid to be alone?

Did you think I would be?

 

Is it odd to believe

I could be happier

With the peace of the mountain in winter

Than around the chattering of other humans

Keeping busy with each others business?

 

It is a harsh and unforgiving world.

Which one, I ask?

As I remember how it feels

To walk down a city street

And pass so many

And feel so alone.

 

As long as there is snow,

I am safe and sound

When the first few flakes fall

Like a warning

Be gone!

People turn away at the base of the mountain

When they see the big drifts and snowpacked road

And flee as if for their lives.

If only they knew the solidarity

Of remaining with the mountain

Through her sleepy white season.

 

As silent as the snow flakes falling

I sit and watch them leave

And slowly

I unfold like the petals of a rose in June

Warmed by the beauty of the still white mountain

Flourishing without the poisons of the people

The voices and words than never quite make sense to me

A world of words

Of which I will never quite fit in.

Responses

  1. Hey Gin,
    thanx for your comment on my blog via Juli’s blog.
    I have added you to my blog as a link because I like your blog and your honestness and love for horses & camping.
    I have a dear friend who’s son is a Horse-backpacking quide up in the mountains near Yosemite in California. He is seriously thinking of giving it up, as much as he loves it, but fewer & fewer people are backpacking in and it doesn’t pay well when you aren’t working. Shawn lives, breathes horses and loves to pack in and camp with his horse. Sort of a dying breed.
    Blessings to you and your family.
    katmom~gracie

  2. Hi Katmom/Gracie –
    Thank you!!! I’m just starting up here, and definately not sure how to find more folks who actually might enjoy reading these musings. It’s really quite amazing to me to be able to reach out and find such a sense of community over the internet. I would love to be in touch with your friend in Yosemite, if you some day could write him and give him my address.
    Please keep in touch, and I sincerely hope you enjoy some of this site!
    Blessings to you and your family as well,
    Gin

  3. I want to respond to the beauty of this but I am left speechless. Thank you.

  4. THE WAY YOU WRITE SHOWS YOU ARE AT PEACE WITH YOURSELF AND THE WORLD .IT IS A RARE AND PRECIOUS THING MOST WILL NEVER KNOW BUT THROUGH YOUR WRITES AND POEMS THEY MAY GET TO KNOW YOUR FEELINGS AND IT MAY INTER INTO THERE LIVES EVEN IN THE CITY . SITTING IN A QUIET ROOM READING YOUR ARTICLES GIVES ME A FEELING OF PEACE I HAVE LONG FORGOTTEN . KEEP UP YOUR WRITINGS THEY WILL HELP A LOT OF PEOPLE COPE EVEN IF IT IS IN DREAMS OF THE WAY IT COULD BE .

  5. Don, thank you, so sincerely. I could not ask to hear a nicer or more important comment. Thank you…

  6. Gin….the thoughts expressed in this poem remind me of the way I used to feel when I was a young girl living at home. I was raised in the backwoods, and had little to do with the people in the small town about a mile away. Because of that, I was sort of rejected by the kids my own age that lived there. I didn’t know the latest clothing style or jargon. But gradually, I found I didn’t CARE to know.
    I spent hours and hours on the mountain behind my home…just rambling and sitting and thinking. The woods became my best friend. It neither ridiculed nor judged, and was always there to encourage a clean mind and heart.
    Perhaps that sounds a little “far out there,” but I turned out well-adjusted after all, and I attribute that to the time I spent while young, with my “best friend.”
    Thanks for calling that back for me.
    Elaine in Cypress, CA

  7. Elaine, thanks for sharing. What you shared is not “far out.” In fact, it’s quite down to earth and real. I suppose I’m still like you were as a child. A part of me has grown up, adjusted, can get along… another part will never quite fit in, but found her place in the mountains.

  8. Yeah…I think, as you said, “a part of me grew up and adjusted, but I STILL don’t fit in.” I feel most at home in the mountains…say, have you ever visited Glacier International Peace Park in Montana? If so, did you travel Going to the Sun Road?
    My husband and I have a Westfalia VW poptop, and we love to travel (we’ve been as far east as Washington, as far north as Niagra Falls, and as far south as Missouri).
    When we took GttSR, I felt like, if someone were to just drop me there, I could be happy for the rest of my life. If you take that road, you feel so small in the grand scheme of things. The beauty reaches out and, through osmosis or something, seems to just seep into your heart until your soul becomes part of the land.
    I see that reflected in your poetry and writings…a love for Colorado that, through some sort of osmosis, is part of who you and your family are.
    I’m originally from northeastern PA, and I thought I could never love some other part of the country more than my beloved Endless Mountains. When we traveled the Rockies, I changed my mind.
    Have a great day!
    Elaine


Leave a Reply

Categories

