Posted by: highmountainmuse | February 22, 2009

Cinnamon Rolls

Cinammon Roll

Cinnamon Roll

Remember that recipe for Farm House Rolls from last week? Take a quick look back, because here’s a recipe for Cinnamon Rolls that will be starting with that same dough.

 

To make my favorite cinnamon rolls, or probably better referred to as “sticky buns,” I start by following the recipe for my Farm House Rolls, and divide the dough in half after the first rising.  With the first half of the dough, I usually make dinner rolls or a loaf of bread.  With the second half, I make a batch of these Cinnamon Rolls.  It works best for me to make theme night before, then just get them out of the fridge to warm up for an hour or two before baking the next morning.  Makes for an easy breakfast treat that morning, and always a special indulgence.  This recipe makes about eight large rolls.  I cover any leftovers and leave them on the counter to be consumed throughout the day for snacks – they are too messy to freeze well.  You can also re-heat them in their pan the following day.

 

So, here’s the recipe for our favorite Cinnamon Rolls:

 

          With your half section of yeast dough (see Farm House Rolls recipe) roll the dough out on a lightly floured surface to about 9 inches by 15 inches. 

          Spread 3 tablespoons melted butter over the dough.  Fingers work best for this job.

          In a small bowl, combine 1/3 cup white sugar, ¼ cup brown sugar, 1 tablespoon cinnamon, a pinch of salt, a pinch of nutmeg, a pinch of clove, and 1/3 cup chopped nuts if you have them.  Spread this mixture evenly over the buttered dough.

          Roll the rectangle of dough towards you. You’ll roll it so that it remains long, so roll along the shorter width side. Pinch the bottom edges to seal and re-shape the log into a nice even roll if necessary.

          With a good sharp knife, cut the dough into 8 even sections.  Carefully lift and place each of these in a well buttered 8×12”  baking pan, leaving space in between for the dough to rise (they will double in bulk by the time they are done cooking)

          Then in a small sauce pan, melt ½ stick butter, ½ cup white sugar, ¼ cup brown sugar, 1 cup light corn syrup and ¼ teaspoon salt.  When melted, add a teaspoon vanilla flavoring, and if you have it, throw in ¼ cup whiskey.  Believe it or not, this adds a great zip to the flavor of the breakfast rolls, and the alcohol dissipates out.  It’s our “secret ingredient.”

          Pour this syrup mixture evenly over the rolls in the pan.  Cover tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate over night.

          The following morning, take out of the fridge 1-2 hours before baking to warm up and rise a little more, then bake in a moderate oven – I usually use my wood cook stove, but I’d say in a conventional oven, you’d want to set the temperature to 350 degrees.  As always, in a conventional oven I double pan so I don’t burn the bottoms.  Bake for 25-35 minutes.  Keep an eye on them – you want the tops a rich medium brown, and all puffed up in the middle so that you’re sure the insides are completely cooked through and not still doughy on the inside, but you don’t want to burn them.  Burnt sugar stinks. 

          Serve warm with extra syrup from the bottom on the pan scooped on top.

 

Responses

  1. So, when I was a kid, my mom had this great cookbook that had “key” recipes. Then all sorts of wonderful variations

    Like for this, Farm House Rolls would be the key, Sticky Buns the variation.

    I’m gonna pester her for it soon. If I can figure out which one it is, I’ll have to pass the title along. I’m pretty sure it was a famous one, too.

  2. That sounds like my kind of cookbook. Let me know if you find it. I still have and use my grandmothers copy of Joy of Cooking. It’s from 1962 I think, and you can how much I’ve used it.

  3. TaDa! Here it is.
    from my mom…
    Betty Crocker’s Picture Cook Book, Revised and Enlarged, Second Edition, Published by McGraw-Hill Book Company, Inc., New York, NY, 1956.

    The majority of pages contain a key recipe with variations for other recipes below, which start out, “Follow key recipe for (whatever the recipe is called) above–except (do whatever…)
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B000EF4OEY/ref=dp_olp_0?ie=UTF8&condition=all

  4. I’m gonna look for it… thanks, Nancy!

  5. I finally got around to sharing our version. Ihope you like it.
    http://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/03/01/philadelphia-sticky-buns-bakers-warning-do-not-feed-these-to-guests-theyll-never-leave/

  6. Great, thank you, Nancy – I look forward to trying them! And I love the name…
    Wanted to recommend another cook book to you: the good old standby: The Joy of Cooking. I have my grandma’s old copy from the early sixties (just a couple years older than me), and after my mom saw it with all the pages falling out and the tell tale signs of food scraps all over the book, she just bought me a newer version. I just got in the mail, and already used it last night and again this morning.

  7. hmm…. was the Joy of Cooking the one with the giant red circle around the words?
    I will have to wait to inherit mine, my mom won’t hand over that Betty Crocker either. Stinker.

    Is it just me or are the 50s and 60s versions of so many cookbooks the best? Why do you think that is?

  8. Nancy, That’s the one – I think the older cookbooks didn’t rely on such fancy and specialty ingredients and the more recent/modern cook books do, they relied more on the basics.
    Got the Philly StickBuns on their final rising, made them last night and put them in the fridge over night. Will let you know in a couple more hours how they work in high alititude and cooked in a wood cook stove!

  9. I would chew my arm off for a wood cookstove.

    Have you ever written an entry about learning to cook with it?

  10. Nancy, It’s a while back now, I mentioned cooking on the woodstove just in a comment, a reply to Karen’s comment on the post under “recipes” Mocha Chip Cookies. I suppose I could say more on that (I usually can find plenty to say…)


Leave a Reply

Categories

