Posted by: highmountainmuse | March 4, 2009

Into the city

I am in the city. When we are used to the quiet, the peace, the solitude of our mountain, this is overwhelming at times.  I know I should be able to find the peace within me and the beauty all around.  I look, I listen, I try to feel.  I know it is here, but I have not yet felt it or found it.  I will not give up.  Perhaps one day is not enough to adjust, but I still have tonight to try.

 

It has been a while. I am out of touch with the vibrancy and stimulations of the city.  It is different – not better or worse, just different, and I am out of my element.  I feel a bit ridiculous as I stand there in the playground of the school as we wait for my sisters kids, and listen to the moms and dads talking with each other and on their cell phones, and the kids riding their bikes and running around playing, and although their world seems so far away from ours at times, we are all so similar.  I hear the same concerns of the parents, and see the same love for their children, the same enjoyment of a pure smile and the wagging tail of a happy dog.

 

We stop by a store, beautiful things, soaps and candles and trinkets and wind chimes and artsy glitz and gifts. It is quiet in there.  Surrounded but such precious things, I feel relaxed, I am comfortable and enjoy picking up each item, admiring it, and returning it to its shelf.  One magnet I hold has a quote:

 

Peace is not found in the silent or perfect spaces about us.

Peace is something we find within us, even when we find ourselves facing the hard, the challenging, the difficult times.

 

I buy nothing, but enjoying looking.  I keep this thought within me as the city rolls around me.

 

We ride bicycles back to my sister’s home.  She is more worried about me in the street than her little kids.  I am certain I look as awkward as I feel riding this bicycle, dressed as I am in my levis and button down shirt and cowboy boots, staring in amazement at all the sights and sounds as we slowly glide by.

Responses

  1. […] Iseng Aje created an interesting post today on Into the cityHere’s a short outline I am in the city. When we are used to the quiet, the peace, the solitude of our mountain, this is overwhelming at times.  I know I should be able to find the peace within me and the beauty all around.  I look, I listen, I try to feel.  I know it is here, but I have not yet felt it or found it.  I will not give up.  Perhaps one day is not enough to adjust, but I still have tonight to try.   It has been a while. I am out of touch with the vibrancy and stimulations of the city.  It is diffe […]

  2. I must say that the thought of you bicycling down the road clad in levi’s, a button down and boots brought a smile to my face!
    Enjoy your time in the city and keep us posted on the trip.

  3. I’m back home to my mountain tonight, but I did ride bikes to the school with my sister and her family this morning. I felt like an old hat riding through the city streets on the cruiser… Yup, I fit it a little better up this way, but it was fun to visit.

  4. […] dreaded in-laws (no doubt, I would have preferred to stay home!).  Earlier this month, I took a trip up to Denver to satiate my need for sisterly […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

