Posted by: highmountainmuse | March 13, 2009

Visions of the Rio Grande

Visions of the Rio Grande

By Forrest N. Getz

 

Upon this thawing land I set my feet,

My eyes rest on the horizon,

As if it held my future hidden,

I grit my gloved hand,

In thought of snow and sun.

 

I am here, for reason I wonder,

And, this land, we share in some way,

With the mighty Rio Grande,

With the blowing wind,

With the snow of deep and white,

With the sun blistering down,

And the mountain fostering us.

 

The Rio roars, but subdued,

By harsh ice and snow,

The wind plays gleefully,

Over the battling water and ice,

The sun watches like a proud father,

Those below are woven from the shadow and light,

The wind becomes jaded, and fades to naught,

All under the vigilant eye of the mountain.

 

My youthful body seems unaware,

Of the power of the mountain,

But I am a weak player in the plot of things,

And the mountain lets me frolic,

Like one of her children.

 

My ear finds the roaring Rio,

The ice and snow chill my spine,

The wind touches my cheek in a kind gesture,

As I watch the war between ice and water,

The sun warms me with radiance,

I too, am woven from shadow and sunlight,

The wind is jaded, and so am I,

And the mountain watches me home.   

 

This is my home, amid this weakening turmoil

I am thrown out into the plot of,

With the buried cinquefoil,

And the golden eagle above.

 

Forrest’s poem was first published in “A Walk Along the River, A Literary Anthology From the Upper Rio Grande” ©2006

Responses

  1. I owe you a reading suggestion:

    Tresspass by Amy Irvine
    Fantastic book about wilderness and wildness, mormons and shamans, community and independence. And mountains.

    Her writing style and imagery reminds me of this poem. Beautiful.

    Oh, I also ordered Out of the Molasses Jug. Should be here ina few days 🙂

  2. Forrest left a mark on us the first time we met him… even though we didn’t really know him. He’s just that kind of person. There’s something very special about this young man. I’m excited to see where his life will lead him.

  3. Forest, can you forward your poem to Janet Winans at “sayitso@theriver.com”. I know she would love to read what you have written. I tried to figure out how to do it from your site but failed.

    ART

  4. Sure, Art & Carol, no problem, will do.

  5. I preface this entry by saying, “With effort, a child can get a good education in a public school.”
    That said, herein lies my true belief: When I read this poem for the first time, I assumed an adult had written it. This writing is a real reflection of a homeschooled child. I also homeschooled my sons (well, the first all the way through 12th and grad.—the second, regretfully, only through the 6th grade.) This is poetry at it’s ultimate. Born of a soul with depth and vision that is, many times, sucked out by public schools. I have to say, too, that I think alot has to do with where the children live and their everyday experiences. When those experiences are of a good quality, you get a soul that recognizes the beauty of his world.
    Forrest…….this isn’t your only work, is it? Hope not!

  6. You know, Elaine, I just left a comment saying “this was mine” because I thought you were referring to today’s post. Then I re-read your comment and figured it out. (and deleted the old message taking credit for Forrest’s work). Yup, this is Forrest’s. I’d like to say I’m a good teacher and take credit for part of it, but I can’t. That’s not it at all, it’s all just in him. I’m just lucky to have him in my life and share poems and writing with him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

