Posted by: highmountainmuse | March 28, 2009

Gardening here and now

Swiss chard, growing right here in our cabin.  Can you see the garden in the background, still covered in snow?

Swiss chard, growing right here in our cabin. Can you see the garden in the background, still covered in snow?

I’m finally getting my seed order together.  No, it’s not late.  Or rather, of course it’s late. Spring is later to come to the high mountain. The garden is still snowed in. Until I build a greenhouse, I can take my time. Growing season doesn’t start for a few more months, and then when it comes, it’s quick. Really quick. We’re lucky to have two months without frost.  On the bright side, there’s almost no weeding necessary. I look hard for weeds, so excited to see a green leaf, a volunteer, popping up through the rich but stark soil. It’s usually just a sprouting oat seed from the straw that we spread over the beds last fall. The same straw that was in the chicken coop the summer before.

 

My seed order consists of what for lots of you would only be spring crops, or cold weather crops.  Because here, even in summer, it’s cold.  Lettuce does great. I never have to worry about bolting. Likewise, chard and kale and carrots and spinach grow well all summer long.  We have harvested 100 pounds of potatoes in a summer, and beets enough to pickle.  This year my pride and joy, the asparagus bed, might even be ready to harvest.

 

That’s about it up here.  You see, even if I had a greenhouse or buy starts, the crops that like sun (most crops like sun) aren’t very happy here.  In the high mountains of Colorado, during the main summer season, we are usually blessed with the afternoon rain, the monsoons. Great for the river, for the land, for the trees.  Not so good for a tomato.  Some plants would prefer sun.

 

Ah well, it makes me all the more grateful for the ones folks have shared with us.  Now that is a treat.  Shoot, even zucchini is a treat for us, and one we can not grow.  (If I ever live in lower elevation again, I hope never to take the humble zucchini for granted again.)

 

But garden some of us must.  And so, try I do. Isn’t it funny the things we do because we feel the need to grow things?  I was just reading about a girl in LA whose little patio was stuffed with pots promising peppers and tomatoes.  And believe it or not, I remember my mom and dad, many moons ago, growing fresh tomatoes on their apartment rooftop in New York City.

 

So then, see how lucky I am now?  Look what I’ve got growing right here, right now, inside my home in front of my big front window?  Gourmet lettuce and Swiss chard.  All organic.  All home grown. Here at nearly 10,000 feet elevation (shouldn’t this give the veggies an extra vitamin or nutritional value?  Something I need to look into some day…).  I may not have the quantity and variety of the gardens I’ve grown in the past, but I got this, and it is good!

The ongoing crop of gourmet lettuce, grown here in our kitchen.

The ongoing crop of gourmet lettuce, grown here in our kitchen.

Responses

  1. Brilliant, when we get more space, growing salad indoors looks like a great idea. There is nothing like growing veg, it has to be one of the most rewarding things. Interesting to read what you can and can’t grow – no tomatoes! Horror! :0)

  2. I love the idea of growing lettuce inside. We just added a sunroom to our home and we plan to grow some herbs and now maybe lettuce thanks to your great idea. Your place looks wonderful.

  3. […] Gardening here and now. Swiss chard, growing right here in our cabin Original post: Gardening here and now « High Mountain Musing […]

  4. […] Swiss chard, growing right here in our cabin. Can you see the garden in the background, still covered in snow? I’m finally getting my seed order together.   No, it’s not late.   Or rather, of course it’s late. Spring is later to come to the high mountain. The garden is still snowed in. Until I build a greenhouse, I can take my time. Growing season doesn’t start for a few more months, and then when it comes, it’s quick. Really quick. We’re lucky to have two months without frost.   On th Gardening Rose Tips […]

  5. Thanks, Jeff. I just checked out your web site, your nursery looks awesome. I saw you have roses… I may order one. I can’t grow them outside here, of course, I’ve tried time and time again. But now I think I should try it indoors. At least a climber around my kitchen window. What do you think?

  6. Yes, I miss those tomatoes… you have such a beautiful, creative garden there.

  7. […] High Mountain Musing added an interesting post on Gardening here and nowHere’s a small excerptSwiss chard, growing right here in our cabin. Can you see the garden in the background, still covered in snow? I’m finally getting my seed order together.   No, it’s not late.   Or rather, of course it’s late. Spring is later to come to the high mountain. The garden is still snowed in. Until I build a greenhouse, I can take my time. Growing season doesn’t start for a few more months, and then when it comes, it’s quick. Really quick. We’re lucky to have two months without frost.   On th […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

