Posted by: highmountainmuse | April 12, 2009

Cranberry Coconut Cookies

Cranberry coconut cookies

Cranberry coconut cookies

I suppose it’s because of the elevation, but we do burn our calories, and we do go through the cookies.  Someone asked me once how and where I stock up enough bread and cake and cookies to get through the winter. I showed them the 50 pound sacks I store in our Trading Post.  A few of those last us through the winter, and provide all the bread and goodies we need. Can you imagine the size of the freezer I’d need to put up all that stuff otherwise?

 

Anyway, I do enjoy baking.  You probably figured that.  And you know, if the wood cook stove is going, you might as well use it, right?

 

Today I’d like to share a recipe for a cookie I just started making.  I took the time to write the measurements down last week when I baked these to make sure I had it right. I’m one of those who measure by “more or less” and use the palm of my hand for measuring spoons, but I have since learned that doesn’t work too well for sharing recipes. (Right, Ma?)

 

I first experimented with these cookies over Christmas. (Karen & Ron, and several friends and family in Creede – you had some of the first experimental batch in the care packages I shared over the holidays.)  Those ones were slightly different – I think I used pecans in them, and did not use the orange peel – and they were pretty good too.  Like with all baking for those of us who don’t live near the grocery store to pick up all the right ingredients, “more or less” works well for baking.  It’s making do. That’s fine for baking, but I don’t really like to settle on “more or less” for other aspects of my life.

 

These are really good! I hope you try and enjoy.

 

Cranberry Coconut Cookies

 

In a medium bowl, cream together:

                1 cup (2 sticks) butter, at room temperature

                2 cups white sugar

Again, I use my Big Fork and a lot of elbow grease, but a mixer would make light work of this if you must.

Cream into the butter/sugar mixture:

                2 tablespoons cream or evaporated milk

                1 egg

                1 tablespoon grated orange peel

                2 teaspoons vanilla

Then gently mix in the dry ingredients all at together:

                2 cups flour

                1 teaspoon baking powder

                ¼ teaspoon salt

When this is well blended, fold in:

                1 ¼ cup dried cranberries (I had a sweetened variety, and they were great)

                1 ¼ cup flaked dried coconut (here, I had an unsweetened variety)

                1 ¼ cup white chocolate chips

When all ingredients are well combined, form round ball with two small spoons on your cookie sheet, evenly spaced (I fit the bakers dozen, 13 per sheet), each ball about 1 ¼ to 1 ½ inch in diameter.

Bake in a medium hot oven (350 degrees), each batch for just under 10 minutes.  Cool cookies on wire racks.

As you can see from the picture, it makes a good size batch, and those that won’t be consumed in a day or two, do freeze well.

Responses

  1. Mmmm they do sound good. Do you make you butter? I hope you had a lovely Easter! We really had a beautiful day. Lots of sunshine and flowers and the hope of a resurrected Lord!

  2. Diane, I hope you had a very special Easter as well! Thanks for checking in – I’m behind in catching up with my “fellow writers of blogs.” I used to have dairy cows and did make butter, now I just do for fun with my neices out of store bought cream. I hope to have a Jersey in our life again someday not too far away… Don’t you have Jerseys, too?

  3. Best experiment I ever tasted!

  4. I do have Jersey heifers….well, I’ve bought them, but we’ve yet to bring them home. It really takes a long time to put a farm together when my man works a full time stressful job. Saturdays don’t always cooperate…. BUT this Sat is suppose to be sunny and he’s past the flu and, and, and…!!! So maybe he’ll get the corral finished and then we can have the girls delivered!!! Clementine should freshen in August! This is a whole new life for me. Some days I’ve wondered if I’ve gotten in over my head, but I don’t think so. It’s just something that I’ll settle into. I’m still trying to figure out my milking schedule since I can! I think I treasure my morning sleep rather than my evening relaxing…we’ll see. Anyway, I’m partial to Jerseys. They do have such good milk! Take care and enjoy Spring!

  5. Diane, I’ll have to write about my cows on tomorrow post, because I’m in town right now having met my new baby bull calf today. Yes, I too am in over my head, but I said the timing is never right, we just have to make it work if we really want it. And make compromises along the way. And mistakes. I’ve been thinking about this a lot in the past few days, because I don’t know if I’ve compromised too much, or not enough, and how many mistakes can one person make? Why can’t there be easy answers? I can’t wait to have a Jersey again. People tell me I’m crazy for it, but I love the chores, the ritual, the quiet calm peaceful time with my cow… Your husband loves you so much, I bet he has no regrets about all he does for you. And I bet it’s mutual. You’ll learn. The one piece of advice I can give you: don’t take much advice. There’s no real right and wrong, it’s whatever works best for you and your heifers. Shoot, I used to milk once a day, keep the calf on all day, and leave the cow and calf together when I had to be gone for a few days. Terrible “no-no’s” but it worked for us. Keep me posted – your “try” is an inspiration.

  6. […] made these for him, and he finished off the entire batch in one sitting….. They must be […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

