Posted by: highmountainmuse | April 20, 2009

Getting over it

 

This is a photo taken a couple years agao of Tres and Flying Crow in one of their brilliant dipslays of affection.  In the background is their first baby together, Tresjur.

This is a photo taken a couple years ago of Tres and Flying Crow in one of their beautiful dipslays of affection. In the background is their first baby together, Tresjur.

 

If Tres can get over it, I believe I can too. And as she is, so must I.  It is interesting to see her sadness and loneliness and healing.  I turned her out with her heard so that she would not be alone.  She is with her first born, Canella, and her granddaughter, Bayjura, among the others.  She spent the first two days still looking and calling for her baby. Flying Crow, the stallion, stayed near her, calmly and quietly. I believe he understood the loss as well. He would not leave her as the others wandered off. Tres took great comfort from him. We watch her stand near him, just to be with him, just to not be so alone. He is her chosen partner and comfort. And he somehow knows it is his job, and appreciates his position. For a stallion, being the preferred companion of the boss mare has its perks. It means he gets to eat by her, so gets to eat first, rather than his usual position of allowing all to be fed before him, as he stands backwards and behind his herd, waiting for me to bring him his food last. But there is far more to it than food. With all his mares, we know none are more special to him than Tres. When we ride one or the other, then turn them out together again, they run towards each other in this brilliant display of affection. Even when they have just been separated for an hour or two.

 

 

 

 

Yesterday, I found myself keeping busy feeling sorry for myself, but doing little else. I have never accepted that well. I briefly reflected on some of the hard times I have been through, and how I have been able to get over them all. I have tried, taken risks, chosen to take that bumpy path off the main road. Always. As such, I have had my share of thrills and spills. It will not keep me from trying, from striving, from continually reaching for more. It will not turn me back to jump on that paved road, I promise you that.

 

We can not get slapped down if we do not stand up.  I will still stand up.  As my vet wrote me last night, only those that have, lose.

 

Responses

  1. Oh Gin! We were away for the weekend and am now just catching up on my reading… I am so sorry… no words can help, but know that we feel your loss and are sending our love to you and the boys and the all of your furry family!

  2. Thank you, Maggie. It’s been cruddy. I know you can understand. We’ve all been there in one way or another. I can’t tell you how much it has helped and meant to me to hear from my friends. Thank you.

  3. Gin,we know how hard this has been for you ,also how strong you are. But we still worry about you glad to see the blog this morning

  4. Gin, While reading this I thought of a Garth Brooks song called “Standing Outside the Fire” and a line of the chorus that says: “Standing Outside the fire, standing outside the fire…life is not tried it is merely survived if your standing outside the fire.” Here’s a link to the video, I think you’ll really appreciate the song:

  5. Good morning Gin, Hope all is well. sure is nice to have some sun shine isn’t it. I am guessing your snow won’t last long either, let us know when the road are passable we will run up for dinner on one of our race weekends off.
    Marv

  6. ANIMALS HAVE FEELINGS . SOMETIMES MORE THAN PEOPLE .MY WIFE IS VERY SICK AND WHEN SHE WAS IN THE HOSPITAL OUR DOG WOULD GO FROM ROOM TO ROOM LOOKING FOR HER EVERY TIME I CAME HOME . WHEN THEY SENT HER HOME SHE IS STILL SICK AND NEEDS HELP .EVERY TIME SHE NEEDS ANY HELP THE DOG COMES AND GETTS ME AND DOES NOT STOP BARKING UNTIL I GET THERE .A MOTHER IS A MOTHER NO MATER IF SHE IS HUMAN OR ANIMAL . TRES WILL SOMEDAY LET HER COLT GO BUT I THINK LIKE HUMANS WILL NEVER FORGET.
    AS I WROTE BEFORE I LOST MY YOUNGEST DAUGHTER SOME TIME AGO BUT LIKE YOUR TRES SEE WILL ALWAYS BE IN HER MOTHERS THOUGHTS.

  7. Thank you Karen for posting that vid. It made me cry for some reason.


Leave a Reply

Categories

