Posted by: highmountainmuse | May 5, 2009

Living in the wind, a poem for Don

the lasting impression of a dove left behind on my window, with the reflection of the sky and mountains behind.

the lasting impression of a dove left behind on my window, with the reflection of the sky and mountains behind.

Living in the wind

Dancing as leaves in a draft

Floating like the birds on an rising current

Climbing the mountain so effortlessly

Higher we ascend without moving a wing

Until I can no longer see you

But feel you forever with me

Any time I remember

Lives pass as simple as the breeze

A final breath

How have we affected others more than with love

Can we achieve any immortality greater

Than the impression left on another’s heart

Memories remaining

Like the fleeting shadow of the deer in the woods

Or solid like the mighty river

Blackbirds decorating the aspen trees in evening, we are never truly alone.

Blackbirds decorating the aspen trees in evening, we are never so alone.

Responses

  1. Don, I don’t know you but I have been praying for you. It sounds like you had a heck of gal there. She will be with you here in many ways, until one day, you can be with her again. Until then, take care of yourself and remember her every day. Visit the mountains in her memory. She will go with you.

  2. Gin, what a beautiful way to honor a special woman and a special man.

  3. “Can we achieve any immortality greater

    Than the impression left on another’s heart”

    The only question worth asking…beautiful.

  4. IT IS COMFORTING TO KNOW THERE ARE STILL CARING PEOPLE OUT THERE . THIS IS THE HARDEST TIME OF MY LIFE .YOUR THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS ARE A COMFORT .I DONT KNOW HOW TO TELL EVERYONE HOW I FEEL . MAYBE SOMEDAY WHEN I CAN THINK AGAIN .I LOVE YOU ALL EVEN THOUGH WE HAVE NEVER MET .I WILL WRITE MORE WHEN THE TEARS ON MY KEY BOARD DRY . THANK YOU


Leave a Reply

Categories

