Posted by: highmountainmuse | May 7, 2009

Early morning mist on the mountain

Early morning mist on the mountain

Early morning mist on the mountain

Some days we wake to a blanket of clouds, our head in the middle of the mist.  Soft, safe, protected in our own little world.  So far away from what you might call the “real” world.  Does that make my day-to-day world unreal or somehow less real?  Or just a different kind of real?

 

As the sun rises so does the blanket of fog lift and clear and we open our eyes to the truth.  The beautiful mountain that lies before us, somehow in more apparent light than we remember it to be. Like new life exposed after a rain storm. Always fresh, always different, always somehow changing, the mountain or me.

 

And slowly the reality of our world becomes more plain, more real.  No longer able to hide behind the secretive veil.  And I consider the change, and wonder how it would feel if I could pull back the blanket of fog and remain safe and protected for just a little while longer…

 

But life is about change. Like water in a clear mountain pool, without change, it will be stagnant. We do not remain today as we were yesterday. This is a part of life, a part of the mountain, a part of each of us as certain as the seasons. We can hold onto the past, and so many try to do. Clinging and grasping and clawing to remain grounded in a time and place no longer.

 

Some things, on the other hand, are slow to change, remain relatively unaffected by our decisions, by our neighbors, by the choices of mankind. 

 

“There is nothing like returning to a place that remains unchanged to find the ways in which you yourself have altered.”
                – Nelson Mandela

 

And so in hopes of remaining in the cocoon of a  world around me in this languid fog, I hide protected and safe in the world of yesterday.  But today is a new day.  And how foolish I would be to hide my head in that mist.  I would rather stand tall and face the change, perhaps, in fact, try to create the inevitable change as best I can.

 

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”

                – Mahatma Gandhi

Early morning mist on the ranch.

Early morning mist on the ranch.

Responses

  1. “As the sun rises so does the blanket of fog lift and clear and we open our eyes to the truth.” What a beautiful metaphor for each day’s waking. I just found your blog on Tag Surfer. You live in a choice place where you feel the rhythm of life nearly undisturbed by human contrivance. I love the security of the mountains and am glad for a taste of that life through your blog.

  2. Beautiful, Gin…you captured just how I feel about the mist here, when it shrouds my little hill top and makes it feel like an island.

    I hope that the changes in your life are smooth, and the direction clear, and the process peaceful.

  3. JUST MAKE A PLACE FOR A BED ROLL AND I WILL BE YOUR RANCH HAND .WAKING TO A MIST AND THE MOUNTAINS COMING FROM THE MIST IS LIKE THE BEGING OF A NEW WORLD .I USED TO GET UP BEFORE DAWN AND HAVE COFFEE AND COULD HARDLY WANT TO GET STARTED . EVERY DAY WAS A NEW WONDER WAITING TO BE DISCOVERED .I MAY BE STRANGE BUT I ENJOYED THE WORK AND COMING IN AT NIGHT TO A HOT MEAL .COMING INTO THE HOUSE WITH IT FULL OY THE SMELLS OF GOOD FOOD WAS ABOUT AS COSE TO HEAVEN AS YOU CAN GET HERE ON EARTH . KEEP UP THE STORYS AND POEMS THE ARE CLOSE TO MY HEART .

  4. I love the fog in the early morning. It feels like Mother Nature has wrapped me in her personal cocoon where all is quiet and peaceful. Beautiful pictures and wonderful thoughts. Thanks.

  5. Don, Pack up your bed roll, grab some groceries, and come stay here for a week, if you can, sometime before the end of June. There’d be a place to stay here in the mountains for you.
    gg

  6. I’m here in Greeley to watch my neice graduate from UNC with honors. Watched the mountains from my left window all the way from Raton. Longing to be at the Rio headwaters.

    Lisa from Waco

  7. Stop by on your way back, Lisa. Spend the the night, it’s quiet this time of year. Really!

  8. And congrats on the graduation of your neice!

  9. That bottom picture is simply stunning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

