Posted by: highmountainmuse | May 18, 2009

A little morning muse

The first Aspen leaves starting to appear across river.

The first Aspen leaves starting to appear across river.

The first leaves of the Aspen are emerging across river, a soft spray of bright green on what for so much of the year appears as a subtle black and white and grey landscape drawing. On pasture, now a vibrant pool of new grass, the marsh marigold smile up with their shiny white faces. This morning, the sky is a gentle wash of pink, and the mountain appears softer, lighter, more gentle before the harsh light of direct sun spreads across the meadow before me.  I hear a goose, perhaps just one, maybe two, out there somewhere, quite concerned.  I wonder if they are nesting nearby and squawking to protect their young.  So many questions left unanswered sitting here safe and warm and uneffected in my cabin. The horses are not at their place along the fence asking for breakfast, and I become anxious to slip on my boots and go feed, go check. I notice each thing out of place, everything just a little different, and I am reminded of how much we can know, how much we can learn, and how very far we will always still have to go.

Marsh marigold, or elkslip.

Marsh marigold, or elkslip.

Responses

  1. Thank you for letting us experience the unfolding of Spring!

    You’ve left me curious as to what was causing the stir outside this morning, though! Did you go out and check when you finished writing? Isn’t it amazing how the animals let us know that things are “out of place”, that is if we are in tune with them like you are.

    We are having a most spectacular day in Texas today as well! Not sure what I’m going to do with myself but I plan on spending as much time as I can outdoors! We won’t have many of these days left before it gets too hot to enjoy.

  2. Thanks for asking, Karen. They were fine, everything was fine, as usual. Getting worried with Canella so ready to foal now, sometime in the next few weeks. Getting worried, obviously. Had the vet here last week, and feel as prepared as I can be at this point.
    Glad you’re having a good spring there.

  3. Seems like much is brewing…and here you are, all at once, the great grasper and releaser of all you cherish. It’s a great and ancient thing.

  4. What a beautiful time to be born! Fingers crossed for Canella and the foal to be. I love that even though Spring is well and truly sprung here, we get the chance to experience the newness and sudden treasures with you all, albeit virtually…

  5. The leaves on the trees are JUST starting, every day a little more… the grass greener, the snow in the high country less and less. Isn’t change in the world around us amazing? Thanks, Maggie, for everything… I believe it’s going to be good. Knowing good people makes it easier, worth while, and reminds us of the focus and good things in life. There are lots, aren’t there?

  6. Once again, you bless me with a warm smile deep inside, thank you, Ruth.

  7. Thank you for sharing your muse. I am reminded to breath in the world around me. We get so caught up in survival we forget to enjoy life. This coffee sure is good. I think I will go outside on the deck and enjoy it.

  8. Thank, Italco. I have to remind my self to stop and feel it all every day. It is my cuppa that helps me unwind too. It’s too easy to get caught up in the problems, stresses and negativity, and too often I do. But it is easier here to let go. The mountain makes you unwind as it takes your breath away in so many ways. I am lucky for that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

