Posted by: highmountainmuse | May 19, 2009

Return of the doe

The doe doesn't show herself to me mid day when I'm out and about with my camera, but this young cow elk did yesterday, grazing down in front of the Little Cabin.

The doe doesn't show herself to me mid day when I'm out and about with my camera, but this young cow elk did yesterday, grazing down in front of the Little Cabin.

Silent as a whisper you cross the meadow

Like a soft lazy breeze through full leafed trees

In the last light of the day

Shadows now but a memory

Your delicate steps cautiously advancing

Returning to each place you were last year

Here

The salt lick by the horses that chase until they are bored

And bother you but for a moment

Do you look towards my garden

Recalling the last of the lettuce you finished off in October

Before leaving for lower ground?

In the early light of a cloudy morning

You emerge like a promise

Unspoken words

The world is yours now

Yet so frightfully you remain in your domain

Do you feel no comfort for more than a moment?

Into the woods I follow you

I mean not to disturb

But know not how to pass without

Never as quiet as I try to be

On horseback you allow me more near

Is it the smell of the fellow four legged that comforts you

Or your natural curiosity

As strong as my own?

And in the soft pink light of the early morning

Quiet and still without a hint of wind or sound or list of things to do today

With the pair of geese rising up from their nest in the marshy grass

To keep you not too near

You find your way by

Step by cautious step

On your mountain

Despite my fences my stock my house my noise my neighbors my problems

It is yours.

Yesterday mid day on the mountain... magical.

Yesterday mid day on the mountain... magical.

Responses

  1. BEING PART CHEROKEE I LOVE NATURE .ITS OUR CALLING TO SAVE MOTHER EARTH .YOU ARE DOING MORE THAN ALL OF THE POLITICAL
    PEOPLE .LET THEM STAND AND SEE WHAT YOU SEE .IF THEY ARE HUMAN THEY MIGHT DO MORE .
    IF YOU SEE SMOKE COMING FROM THE LITTLE CABIN DONT WORRY IT JUST HAS A TIRED AND LONLY VISITER .AFTER A WHILE THE CABIN SEEMS LIKE ITS YOURS AND JUST WAITING FOR YOU . SO MUCH FOR DAY DREAMING .


Leave a Reply

Categories

