Posted by: highmountainmuse | June 4, 2009

A place to sit

The picnic table on Artemis Hill

The picnic table on Artemis Hill

A few years ago, I went on a picnic table building spree.  My theory behind it was the same as when building the blue bird boxes:  if you’re taking the time to build one, you may as well build four.  Only thing is, it was a lot easier to make the simple measurements, cuts and assembly necessary for the bird boxes than it was for picnic tables.  They were not only far bigger, but because I was using all recycled/reused old lumber, each board had to be processed after cutting in order to clean it up before assembly.  Bottom line – I confess it would have been so much easier to build just one, and to use new, store bought dimensional lumber.  But here we are, many years later, with several new picnic tables all about the ranch, and I can feel good and “green” about having built them all with lumber destined for the wood stove or burn pile, but given a second shot at life.

Well, this past week, we moved two of these picnic tables down the new road to sit along the cliff above the Big River.  One table is now outside the Little Cabin. A comfortable place to sit in the morning sun and enjoy coffee, in the evening to watch the shooting stars in the beginning of August, or on a quiet afternoon with a good book and cup of tea and the roar of the river behind you. The other is on the bluff shown above in the photo.  We call that place Artemis Hill.  That is where we laid the little horse to her finally rest.  And now it has become of place of reflection, of rest, of relaxation, and rejuvenation.  A place for us, for all, to sit and listen to the river, and to gaze up through the pasture and back at the magnificent and majestic Pole Mountain.  I feel it is a simple gift. For our selves, our guests, and the mountain. 

Nothing more than a place to sit.

Responses

  1. IVE HAD A LOT OF PROJECTS START BY LOOKING EASY AND TURN INTO REAL JOBS . WHEN YOU ARE FINISHED YOU GET A FEELING YOU REALLY DID SOMETHING .THE LITTLE CABIN SOUNDS BETTER EVERYTIME YOU WRITE OF IT .YOUR VEIW IN YOUR PICTURE IS ALMOST LIKE A ARTIST PICTURE . BUT NO ARTIST CAN COME CLOSE TO NATURE ITS SELF
    DON

  2. I agree with you, Don. Sometimes we are walking through the mountain, stop, and stare… and realize if someone tried to paint a picture of the beautiful world before us, they could not come close. Or no one would believe the artist!
    love
    g

  3. I’m ready to come sit at the picnic table and have a cup of coffee!
    jane

  4. I’ll put the coffee on…
    (that would be nice!)

  5. Yesterday, Ron came home from work and asked me if I had read “The Blog”. I have to confess I missed it yesterday. We were having one of those rare June days with low humidity and North winds so I was determined to work outside…even put a blister on my hand!

    Anyway, he told me there was somewhere we had to go when we come to the ranch in September but that I would have to read about it.

    WooHoo!!! I can’t wait to sit at the picnic table on Artemis Hill. I know it will be one of the highlights of my trip…if anyone is looking for me while we are there, that just might be where I’ll be!

  6. When Bob and I unloaded the picnic table down there and put it in place, finding just the right place, we sat there for a few minutes, then a few minutes longer. Hard to leave, but we had other things that needed doing. But we just kept smiling as we drove away, thinking of how others will be able to sit there, look around at the mountain, listen to the river, and just plain feel good there. It’s that kind of place. I’m glad you and Ron could see it from the picture. Just wait until you see it in person!


Leave a Reply

Categories

