Posted by: highmountainmuse | June 5, 2009

Spring cleaning

Though I may not get much further than my front porch at times, there is great beauty there before me!

Though I may not get much further than my front porch at times, there is great beauty there before me!

It did not rain more than a momentary sprinkle.  Not enough to chase me inside.  The rain has been a good excuse to keep me in line, to slow me down when there is so much to do, so much I want to do.  No rain means no excuse, no slowing down outside, no catching up on work inside.

The papers on the desk pile up. Some may remain buried until November when our season is complete once again. Today, the dishes may get left again.  They won’t go anywhere.  I suppose if I wait too long they may up and walk away.  In times like this I understand why many a modern household have a dishwasher.  In my household, we learn to decide what’s most important, and make our simple sacrifices.  For the three of us, outside work usually wins out over housekeeping.

Cleaning is a regular, necessary and important, though not very glamorous, part of our job. Cleaning the guest cabins. And I do take great pride in that work. It is one of the most important ways we have made our guests see so clearly (so cleanly!) how important they are and how much we care about them. I just have to keep it in line, limit the doses, and alternate the cabin cleaning with the outside jobs.  We learn the balance and stick with it best we can. Usually…

My time in nature is more limited now than any other time of the year with these circumstances. Yet, it surrounds me.  The magnificent view is forever present.  But a pretty view is not much more to me than a great painting on the wall.  A vision before me.  I need to be out there.  To feel it.  To be in it.  To breath it. Even out there with my eyes closed, being there matters more to me than simply seeing what appears before me.

I recall years of being in a city, a big city, and still finding a quiet place to sit, to feel the setting sun on my face, and listen to the water, if only the lapping of the tide against the piers.  I could go there and sit in my own silence and block out the sounds of the surrounding world and still find that peace within.  I would know when it was time to get out there, get away, be alone, be in this little sliver of nature which may have been all I could find back then. 

But I believe it is everywhere.  It can be found anywhere.  If we need it, it is there for those who step outside, walk away from the view and step into the picture.

And later the same day.  A good reminder that we need not always go far to find the important things in life.

And later the same day. A good reminder that we need not always go far to find the important things in life.

Responses

  1. Wonderful message and a good reminder. Alan Shepherd and the Grill Chicken, however, is priceless!

  2. Glenn’s always saying that we need a housekeeper this time of year ourselves. I wonder if I could pay one in lettuce and eggs?

    “…being there matters more to me than simply seeing… ”

    Who’s wise now!? 🙂

  3. FINDING A QUIET PLACE IN LAS VEGAS IS LIKE FINDING A NEEDLE IN A HAY STACK . I HAVE A BACK BED ROOM WITH A OLD ROCKER AND FLOOR LAMP I RESTORED . IT IS THE QUIETEST PLACE I KNOW . SEEING YOUR PLACE MAKES ME WANT TO PACK UP AND JUST LEAVE . I STILL HAVE A LOT OF THINGS TO GO THROUDG AND GET RID OF OR SEND OFF TO SOMEONE WHO MIGHT WANT THEM . I CANHARDLY WAIT TO GET WAY . BACK TO THE LAND I LOVE . IF I WAS YOUNGER I WOULD BUILD A LITTLE CABIN AND ME AND MY DOG COULD LIVE OUR LIVES OUT IT PEACE .YOUR WRITINGS AND PICTURES KEEP ME GOING . TO SOMEDAY BE BACK IN NATURE . MAYBE LIFE WILL BE GOOD AGAIN .I CAN ONLY HOPE . I HAVE ONE OF YOUR PICTURES ON THE WALL WHERE I WORK . SO WHEN TIMES ARE HARD I CAN LOOK AND DREAM AND TRY TO PLAN AHEAD
    DON

  4. Every Spring I find myself telling Ron, “I’m sorry about the house,” because I, too, find it so much more inviting outside!

  5. Yesterday was a full day – cleaning other cabins. You should see my house this morning. Alan is still shedding, and the rug brushes him better than I do. Funny how we care so much about appearances, about how our home looks, but truly, it’s more peaceful and relaxed in here when it’s tidy. I don’t know why, but it does feel that way. One more guest cabin to clean this morning, then the vacuum is coming in here!

  6. Don, what are your plans? What do you want to do and go when you look ahead? Will you finish up there, and move to a quieter, simpler place? Could you? Why not? Maybe you could, couldn’t you???

  7. It’s only random wisdom, or appearance there of, Maggie… 🙂

  8. Lee, better yet I need to have the camera with me when the cat, Malakitty (the infamous Frankenkitty) is there just sitting with Alan and the chicken as well. For real. It’s wonderful!

  9. Oh, I love what you write . . .I’ve been so blessed to live next to the Rocky Mountains . . .when the urban life gets to busy, it’s off to hike or sit by a stream or listen to the small waves lap the beach at the lake . . .we don’t have a dish washer either . . . well, the kids are pretty good washers . . .

  10. Shari – I’m not as lucky on that one… or maybe not as smart to have enlisted the kids (just Forrest in our case) for dishwashers.

    I think of how many people, like so many of our guests, are only able to experience that stream and waves and what not except but once a year when they can squeeze in the time and squeeze out the money to get away from it all. I know how hard it is for them, but how important. Even that one week a year is sometimes enough to hold onto in that special place inside, and help them through the other 51 weeks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

