Posted by: highmountainmuse | June 14, 2009

Corn Bread!

Corn bread baked in cast iron cornbread pans

Corn bread baked in cast iron cornbread pans

My apologies for the late post.  Our internet has been down all day.  Isn’t it funny how we take for granted something as remarkable as internet service way up here, and how put out we feel when that satellite dish fails us?  Well, we’re back up and running, and feeling pretty silly for having been so grouchy about it all…

At last… the recipe for cornbread.

Doesn’t sound like anything worth waiting for, perhaps, but hold on there… this is no ordinary cornbread.  I’ve seen this devoured in a most gluttonous manner by some.  As I mentioned I think my sister comes here for the soup alone, but I wonder sometimes if her daughter visits me just for my corn bread.

Look at the ingredients here.  This is not your ordinary corn bread.  You can see by just the recipe you’re in for a treat. 

The recipe started as a corn muffin recipe found in Cook’s Illustrated.  I altered it ever so slightly, and bake it in my old cast iron corn bread pans.  It also works super baked in one large or two smaller cast iron skillets.

I hope you try and enjoy.

Corn Bread

Preheat oven to a medium hot setting, about 400 degrees.

In the corn bread pans, I divide into each section and melt:

                1 stick butter

                2 tablespoons margarine

When melted, swirl the pans around to coat the bottom and sides.  Then pour the butter/margarine into a medium mixing bowl.  Cream in:

                ¾ cup sugar

Then add:

                ½ cup milk

                ¾ cup sour cream

                2 eggs

Mix it up well, then add the dry ingredients, folding them in all at once and blending just until smooth:

                2 cups all purpose flour

                1 cup cornmeal

                1 teaspoon baking powder

                ½ teaspoon baking soda (make that a full teaspoon for you folk in the low lands)

                ½ teaspoon salt

Spoon the mixture evenly into the two corn bread pans, or about ½ – ¾ inch depth into the cast iron skillets.  Bake between 15 – 20 minutes until the tops and sides are all crisp and golden brown and the centers are slightly crackled.

I let this cool in the pan for just a few minutes, then use a butter knife to loosen the edges and prop up each wedge onto the sides of the pan for cooling.  Best served still a little bit warm…

the cast iron cornbread pans cured with melted butter

the cast iron cornbread pans cured with melted butter

Responses

  1. Yum, this cornbread looks so golden good . . . I’ve never used sour cream before . . . just gotta try it!

  2. Looks awsome!

    Karen and Willie are leaving for Washington DC this morning. We’ll have to try that when they get back to celebrate!

  3. Ron, For what are Karen and Willie going to Washington DC? I am certain this is good and exciting news, and I’m sorry I’ve been wrapped up in my own stuff and out of the loop. Please share! This sounds exciting!

  4. Hi Gin!

    Tried the Corn Bread recipe tonight and it is really the best corn bread I have ever tasted! I used my 10 1/2 inch iron skillet which wasn’t big enough and the middle didn’t get done. (but even that part was still delicious!) We liked it really thick so next time I’m going to use the same skillet and try reducing the heat and cooking it longer and see what happens. If it still doesn’t work then I’ll use two skillets or my skillet and a muffin tin.

    Everyone needs to try this recipe!


Leave a Reply

Categories

