Posted by: highmountainmuse | June 21, 2009

Sunday’s recipe: Saturday’s breakfast

A dutch baby hot out of the oven

A dutch baby hot out of the oven

What’s for breakfast on Saturday mornings here?  A Dutch Baby.  It’s our “pre-cabin cleaning” ritual, followed by leaving the dishes stacked in our sink to run out and go clean the guests cabins in preparation for new friends and families arriving for the new week. 

This dish is Forrest’s favorite breakfast and has become our Saturday morning tradition I suppose in an act of bribery:  I’ll give the crew a good, hearty breakfast in exchange for no whining while we spend the better part of the day cleaning.  It doesn’t always work… but really, cleaning cabins is not that bad…

Anyway, this breakfast dish is called either a Dutch Baby or a German Pancake, and it looks really fancy, but it’s actually really simple.  It puffs up beautifully straight from the oven, but falls quite quickly, so be prepared to serve it right away.

This recipe serves the three of us with a good hearty meal, or can serve several more if accompanied by fresh fruit or sausage or bacon. I hope you try and enjoy.

Dutch Baby

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together well:

                4 eggs

Then add:

                1/3 cup all purpose flour

                1 tablespoon sugar

                ½  teaspoon salt

Whisk this together until very smooth, then slowly add:

                2 ½  cups cream or evaporated milk or regular milk, or a combination there of

Meanwhile, in a large cast iron skillet, melt:

                3 tablespoons butter

When melted, pour the batter into the buttered pan and bake in a hot oven (about 400 degrees) for about 25 minutes, or until the top is well puffed up and starting to get a nice golden brown.

To serve, sprinkle with lemon juice then confectioners sugar.

Dutch baby, all powdered up

Dutch baby, all powdered up

Responses

  1. Oh yum! My mom used to make these. Sometimes she’d add in sliced apples too. Super yummy. What a blast from the past!

  2. mmmmm. That looks amazing. I’m definitely going to try that this sunday. Cleaning cabins really isn’t that bad. I get to pinch hit as a maid on Saturdays sometimes, and get to ransack the cabins for all the goodies left behind: sodas, candies, wine, etc.

  3. I know those are best cooked in cast iron…which I had to leave on the mainland.
    ;(

    I might still give it a try though. Sounds like a good chance to eat some exotic fruit!

  4. Kim, I read your comment and considered how odd change is, we give up some things (cast iron pans) for others (exotic fruit) and I’m never sure if one is right and one is wrong but it’s what life does to us, isn’t it? I hope your big change is going well, but mostly, I’m sending sincere blessings to you and your daughter for strength and guidance and good health.
    gg

  5. I love change. That’s what life is. You have to embrace it or you will always be unhappy.

    I don’t mind having to give up my cast iron. I know I’ll see it all again someday, and it’ll be like Christmas all over again. My grandmother gave those pans to me, and they were given to her by her mother. I don’t really know how old they are. There’s a lot of love and history behind them.

    It felt both frivolous and ridiculously expensive to ship them here to Hawaii where I have to cook with electric. I’m learning to use other pans, and in this heat. cooking is not a real priority.

    There are other things, as you say. Fruit right off the tree, which we can reach out from our lanai and pick.

    The trick is not to think of things as an exchange, or to think of what you might have left behind. One door opens onto another. Always. If you are looking back, the door might swing shut and smack you in the head. You gotta watch what you are doing.

    Many thanks for your kindness. My daughter really lucked out this time. It is always dicey: it could go either way. It could be the BIG ONE or we could get through it. We never know. Living with that is hard, but the same principle applies: Don’t look too far forward, either. You gotta walk through one door at a time.

    Hopefully, today we are going to do it while eating mangoes.

  6. kim, i shouldn’t be typing, my hands are filthy, good dirt from the garden, but I read your note and had to write… I so agree. I think it was a quote from Einstein stating, “the only thing we can truly count on is change.” Scary as it may be at times (for me at least), it’s what makes us grow, moves us on, helps us to look at the world around us with softened eyes and strive to be our personal best. there is a quote on a wall calendar I love about change in one of the guest cabins. i will try to remember to write it down and share it with you tomorrow (cabin cleaning day…).

  7. Gin
    You are so busy—I don’t know how you find the time to write here at all, much less read other people’s blogs.
    I’m enjoying this conversation and look forward to reading that quote.
    Life IS change.

  8. OK Kim, here’s the quote:

    “Out of clutter find simplicity;
    From discord find harmony;
    In the middle of difficulty
    lies opportunity.”

    Albert Einstein

  9. Whoa! I’m a big fan of Einstein’s humanistic words, and that’s one I’ve never read or heard. How did that happen?

    I think that will become my mantra, my inner eyelid tattoo, my mutter-before-sleep saying for a long time. Thank you for sharing it with me!

    Oh, and my email signature!

  10. Me too. I could use it posted on the inside of my eyelids…
    Funny the benefits of cabin cleaning… I read this while turning the calendar page, just some cheezy calendar from a local bank… talk about hidden treasures.


Leave a Reply

Categories

