Posted by: highmountainmuse | July 5, 2009

Rambling on a Sunday morning

commuting to work, the view from the road

commuting to work, the view from the road

Folks visiting up here in the mountains often lose track of time, and even more frequently, of what day of the week it may be.  These things lose relevance up here.  Suddenly, what becomes important is not time and date, appointments and schedules; but where to fish, when to sit in the shade to enjoy a picnic lunch, where to take a hike, when to enjoy the best view… See what I mean?  Does it matter if it’s morning or evening, Tuesday or Wednesday?  Probably not so much…

Fortunately, we can check the computer from time to time to confirm time and date. (Funny though, that tends to be less and less with the longer days and warmer weather…) Once again, what would we do without our computers? 

However… we have to look to know, don’t we?  See where I’m going here?  Yes, I thought yesterday was Sunday… sort of…  Ah well, I get an extra day out of this week.  I love when that happens…

Over the past few weeks, I’ve had a bunch of folks ask for more details of what we are doing up at Ditch Camp.  Other folks still want to know why. So, I’d like to take a few minutes to share some more details with you on the actual work at hand up there.

I’ll start with answering the why.  A few years ago when we began to feel the drop in the outfitting business, we discussed that horses had to remain as our work, not just our hobby.  Just one of those things that’s important to me.  If it’s not work, I may not take the time for it.  And by golly, I want to make sure I take time for horses! So, we began to look at the big picture, searching for ideas on how we could continue to live and work with our horses.

I read recently that only 1% of horse owners “work” with their horses, but I also was raised to believe that if we want something strong enough, and if it is a good thing, we can work to make it happen…

Low and behold, we received an e-mail asking us if we’d consider taking on a job that required us to work with our horses, for both transportation, packing, and moving dirt. A wee bit of man power as well, of course, but still working with the horses as an essential component. OK, we could do that!

Careful what you ask for. You might just get it.

Here’s another thought as to why.  Well, as you can imagine, someone who is so comfortable and at home in the solitary peace and quiet and remote and wild world of winter far away in the mountains might just get to feeling a little closed in during the summer time when the mountain is wide open and abuzz and full of life, family and friends are swarming, and the noise of traffic replace the still of the wind.  Happy sounds, so much of it, like laughter and children’s joyful bursts and neighbors chatting and good times in the air…

It’s a drastic difference, and one that’s enjoyable most of the time. I couldn’t hope for nicer neighbors that we find in our guests. But the change is dramatic.  It’s a big swing of the pendulum. So, getting away, going out there to the Wilderness, isn’t just a fun job; it’s a way to keep me in balance, to remind me of the quiet and nature and beauty of the land when otherwise my focus is turned towards people. Good people, and a position I am truly honored to have. One that gives me purpose and a place in a community that without, one would be lost or at least incomplete. But one that is just so different from our world of winter, you know?

I can breath there.  Catch my breath.  And return full and filled and happy to be with our wonderful friends and neighbors once again.

Now, as for the what we do…

and commuting home from work (photo by Forrest)

and commuting home from work (photo by Forrest)

Responses

  1. Funny, I never complain about the commute to & from work. I’ve always said that it gives me the time I need to mentally prepare for the day in the AM and wind down & leave work at work in the afternoon…

    I think I’d like your commute even better!

  2. The best part of the commute, Maggie, is better than the veiw. It’s being with my boys. Can’t think of anything more dear to me. But wherever and however I’ve “commuted” I’ve been grateful for the down time, the quiet time, the time for reflection. Except the one time I tried commuting in LA. I didn’t find traffic very relaxing.

  3. I read this with a smile. I can so relate to the need for the recharge of silence and solitude. Sometimes I think my biggest stressor is the fact that I DON’T live in a secluded wooded world (with river, of course).

  4. The first part of this post really resonated with me. A few weeks ago I actually googled “what is today”. I love knowing the days only by which rides are going out and which dinners are being served. First Point ride and spaghetti dinner? Must be a Monday.

  5. I relate to that – for years, I lived and worked at a kids camp. I could tell the day of week by what was on the table. Best lunch was Wednesday: grill cheese and tomato soup. Best night was Friday: tacos and watermellon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

