Posted by: highmountainmuse | August 2, 2009

Chicken Breasts Ginny’s Way

Chicken breasts Ginny's Way

Chicken breasts Ginny's Way

Back in the late 60’s and early 70’s when I was a kid, American Cooking wasn’t considered anything worth bragging about.  This was the time Julia Child was just starting to make a change in the way our country looked at cooking, meals and food in general.  Back then, TV Dinners were where we were at.  But good old fashioned country cooking was around and strong then.  Hearty, rich, high calorie food that sticks to your ribs (and I hate to admit, but perhaps your arteries as well…), and fuels you for a day of work on the farm or ranch.  I’m still quite partial to what I call Country Cooking.  I don’t tire of biscuits and gravy, or anything “smothered.” 

The recipe I’m sharing with you today is definitely a “smothered” dish.  The original recipe of this sort was ripped out of the New York Times by my mom back in the mid 60’s, possibly even before the year I was born. Yes, it’s THAT old (no wise comments here, please…).  My mom still has the original clipping, called “Chicken Breasts Maria’s Way,” now old and yellow and I bet with more than a few splatters of grease.  As a little kid, it was my favorite dinner, and the one I’d request when I could choose what was for dinner – that usually was just on my birthday.  Today, I still make it on my birthday, but also on any other day I find myself with all these ingredients on hand.  We love it!

I hope you’ll try and enjoy…

Chicken Breasts Ginny’s Way

In a large, cast iron skillet, over medium heat, melt:

            4 tablespoons, or ½ stick butter

Add:

            4-6 chicken breasts, preferably without bone

            Sprinkled with 1 teaspoon paprika, ½ teaspoon garlic powder, and salt & pepper to taste.

Sauté on both sides until just browned.  Then add and sauté until soft:

            1 medium onion, diced

Cover the chicken/onion loosely with aluminum foil and bake in the oven for about 25-30 minutes, until cooked through, at 350 degrees.

In a separate bowl, make the sauce by combining:

            1 cup sour cream

            ½ cup mayonnaise

            ¼ cup parmesan cheese

When chicken is cooked through, add to the skillet:

            1 can sliced peaches, drained

            2-3 cups cooked broccoli

Smother all with dollops of the sauce, then return the skillet to the oven, which is now at a very hot or broil setting, until a few specks of golden brown appear on top of the sauce, about 5 minutes.

Remove from over and serve with rice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

