Posted by: highmountainmuse | August 31, 2009

A day’s work

Looking back at my husband, the string of horses, and the forks of the Utes as the sun gets lower and the shadows get longer

Looking back at my husband, the string of horses, and the forks of the Utes as the sun gets lower and the shadows get longer

The digging and dragging and ditch work are complete for the season, but work itself of course continues.  That’s what keeps us all going, in one way or another, a point and a purpose to each day. Whatever our purpose may be.

Yesterday, the purpose was bringing a family into the Weminuche Wilderness for their week long vacation. Ten horses, riding the folks and their gear into the high country. They will later backpack themselves out. 

I appreciate and respect the few families that still choose to spend time together, to spend time in the mountains, to give up some of the daily comforts for the tremendous views and soothing serenity, to get away from it all… but not from each other.  Here at the ranch, there in the high country… away from the traffic, the cell phones, the video games… just for a few days to remember…

This is one of the best parts of living on the mountain; not just visiting, passing by, or spending the fair seasons here, but hunkering down and calling it home and committing to the ups and downs, droughts and blizzards, crowds and immeasurable silence.  The opportunity to share, to meet such good people, to learn a little bit about their world as I open up mine to them, to help allow the wilds feel a little more comfortable for those who step outside…

Riding home, hunkered down on my horse as the rain soaked his mane flat against his neck, his alert ears forward, finding each step so smoothly and remarkably rapidly along the muddy and slick trail.  Horses with a job to do, a purpose, focused on the task and hand.  Don’t we all need that?  The sky darkens around us, a string of ten ponies, just my husband and me, too tired to speak, but no words ought to be tossed out there. We look at each other, each managing our string of horses, and smile, and little more needs to be said.

Responses

  1. I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN BY BEING SO TIRED YOU CAN HARDLY MOVE .I HAVE DONE JOBS LIKE THAT WHEN TIMES WERE HARD .THERE ARE TIMES WHEN NO WORDS ARE NEEDED .JUST A SMILE OR A TOUCH TELLS THE WAY YOU FEEL ABOUT THEM .ITS SOMETHING I WILL MISS THE REST OF MY LIFE . MAY YOU AND YOUR HUSBAND HAVE A VERY LONG LIFE TOGETHER .SIT ON THE PORCH WATCH THE SUN GO DOWN AS YOU HOLD HANDS AND JUST GIVE EACH OTHER A SMILE
    DON

  2. THis post just made me tear up a little…we do all need to do meaningful work, I think. Just a poignant reminder that sometimes it’s possible to do something amazing. I admire all the hard work you and your family do, and take inspiration from it when I feel overloaded.

    With the kids growing so fast, sometimes I feel like my time with them is running out, and I have to maximize every minute, so I don’t look back later and say, “I wish I had…” about too many things.

    Best,
    Wendy


Leave a Reply

Categories

