Posted by: highmountainmuse | September 7, 2009

Advice from a fridgerator magnet

Gone riding...

Gone riding...

“Let us strive to improve ourselves, for we cannot remain stationary; one either progresses or retrogrades.”  Mme Du Deffand

At times, as change is so slow to come, we find ourselves in need of a challenge to push our limits, to raise our spirits and fill us with hope, to lift us above the ashes. And so perhaps creating the challenge is what we are in need of.  Creating the change…

On my fridge is a quote from an unknown author: “You cannot plow a field by turning it over in your mind.”

Around my home, and especially on the fridge which is covered with words of wisdom printed on simple magnets, are quotes of inspiration, little reminders for things too easy for me to forget.  Like bravery, courage, and strength.  I know these things are in me; they are in us all.  But I get too comfortable, and forget to challenge the drive that has got us all where we are today.

Above me desk is a quote by Eleanor Roosevelt:  “You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face… You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”

That in mind, I head out today for a solitary pack trip. Alone.  Not fully alone, of course. I will have my saddle horse and pack horse to help me, and for me to care for them. But it will be up to me, for four days, riding and camping in the back country and Wilderness.

As I prepare to head out this morning, I am grateful for my horses and the beautiful mountains around me in which I will be able to spend the next four days.  More than anything however, I am grateful for my husband and son who allow me the time and space and understanding to follow my dreams…

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” Mahatma Gandhi

Responses

  1. Ah…this is wonderful, what you’re doing. I’ll be sending all the best vibes of support. Looking forward to your posts when you get back!

  2. I think the unknown author has been looking over my shoulder! 🙂 Thank you for the inspiration today…those are definitely challenges to bring to a new day. I hope your packing trip goes smoothly.

    I’ve set up my first ‘in the real woods’ camp, and decided to leave it up this week, and spend some time up there, including some nights. As I was up there setting up, and struggling to understand directions obviously aimed at people who have done this many times, I thought of you and your streamlined approach to the camping, and the encouragement of your stories of back woods camping…very grateful for all of it.

    Already, I found what I needed up at the campsite – peace, tranquility, nature. I hope you enjoy your trip.

  3. Oh I love that quote by Eleanor! My DD went off on a whim yesterday late in the morning to ride her ummmm car to MA. She caught wind of the Great White Shark sightings and just had to see them herself. So, she slept in her car after a 12 hr journey probably through horrid traffic to The Cape. She told me she is close….she found the seals and got some awesome photos. My prayer is that she gets to fulfill her dream of shooting a Great White!

    Not what I dream about….but it’s a dream fulfilled.

    Oh how I envy your love for horses….I’m not a lover myself, but I envy what I see you doing. I know you’re already off on your journey, but when you get back remember me. I had my first farm tragedy. We had a dead calf pulled on Sunday. It had been dead for a long time and we are grateful it didn’t kill Josie. But the sadness has overwhelmed me and the connection to these gentle giants has won my heart. I think of you often!

    Happy Trails!

  4. I am praying a safe and enlightening trip for you and look forward to reading about it.

  5. First and foremost – congrats on your 5th… Wish I could be there to hug you all! (And yes I put it here not there, on purpose!) Glenn & I are on our 6th in a couple weeks….

    I love that you posted Sunday about togetherness and Monday about solitude. In reality, the quality of one reflects on the depth of the other. Hope that you are enjoying your time “alone.” May you find the peace, joy, courage and strength that left with you… for they are always within you!

  6. […] friend Gin who is off on a pack trip into the high mountains of Colorado had some great quotes on her blog […]

  7. […] a solution.  If I just stood up and did something, there’d be little to mull over, and I had this tidbit from Gin at High Mountain Muse which summed it up in advice from her refridgerator magnets which hit […]

  8. I USED TO GET AWAY BUT IT WAS FROM THE WORLD .THERE WAS ALWAYS 2 OF US GETTING AWAY IT WAS ALWAYS FROM THE WORLD NEVER EACH OTHER. I HOPE YOU ARE SAFE AND GETTING YOUR THOUGHTS TOGETHER .I HAVE ONLY ONE MOTO “ALWAYS TRY TO BE THE PERSON YOUR DOG THINKS YOU ARE ”
    DON

  9. Don,

    I love that motto! Wouldn’t it be a perfect world if we could all actually be that. Dogs are so loyally devoted and forgiving and they always think the world of us–even on our worst days.

  10. Don, I love that motto too! Our dogs sure keep us honest if we let them, huh?

  11. Wendy, so glad to hear about your camp. You know, every time I learn more. Mostly that means what I can do less. Bring less. Eat less. Pack less. Simplify. Why are we out there? As you felt and figured: being there. The peace, the beauty, serenity, simplicity. Figuring out the bare bones of what matters most. And then we remember how much fluff we have to protect us from that stark reality in most of our day to day living! We learn every time. May we never stop learning, but always keep trying. Mistakes are our milestones. At least we’re getting somewhere.

  12. Don – I too do think of that. And I don’t think I have yet to be worthy, but it gives me about the loftiest goal to strive for.

  13. Diane, my friend, as I was writing about how Bob not only allows but actually helps me follow my dreams, I thought about your husband building your fencing and cow barn and all… how lucky we are… and the things they put up with!


Leave a Reply

Categories

