Posted by: highmountainmuse | September 28, 2009

Listening to the silence

From just outside my cabin door.

From just outside my cabin door.

I walk out in the low grey light of early morning and hear nothing.  No voices.  No barking, yelling, motors, mechanical anything.  Silence.

Then a nicker from one of my horses as they see me approaching. A distant bugle of an elk. The soft and steady hum of the river. Far away geese.

And when these noises fade away, there is nothing else, nothing more.  A deep, reverberating silence. Only the sound my breath. And my world is safe and still.

Responses

  1. Gin,

    Nice thoughts and beautful photo. Aspens have really changed in two weeks.

    Saw a Ken Burns PBS show last night on the National Parks. Called “The Scripture of Nature”. Reminded me of you and the many comments you make here. You would love it.

    Al

  2. I am at a loss for words . I just want you to know
    how wonderful your world is.
    DON

  3. Yes, you can write the silence. But I knew that. So appreciate your wealth.
    : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

