Posted by: highmountainmuse | October 4, 2009

Forrest’s Wild Game Marinade

Although I am fascinated by and enjoy the hunt, I admit pulling the trigger is something I have not been able to do out there.  I’ve yet to kill anything larger than a fly…  with the exception of a few roosters for the stew pot when no one else was willing and able to do the dirty work.  I don’t raise roosters anymore.

There is an incomparable satisfaction in raising or harvesting ones own animals for meat, no different than growing your own tomatoes or wild harvesting mushrooms.  It is a good feeling of responsibility, humility and self sufficiency, and the by-product sure beats anything one can by from the grocery store. I can raise them; I can enjoy joining one on the hunt; I can even lead a bottle fed lamb to the butcher, then help skin and gut. But when it comes to pulling the trigger, I fail.  I know, I know… whimp.

A bonus to Forrest helping out at hunting camp last month was a rump roast from the hunter’s harvested elk. When aged and prepared just right, I know of know finer meat than that of the elk, and nothing more pure and natural when respectfully harvested from our mountains.

Today I share with you a recipe for a marinade Forrest prepared earlier in the week for this meat, and which I repeated for company over the weekend.  We used the elk roast, cut into steaks and then cross sliced into thin strips.  These were put in a bowl, covered with the marinade (recipe following) and allowed to soak in the fridge for a day or two. Then the strips of meat were threaded onto skewers and grilled to perfection.  Although we were lucky enough to use elk meat, any red meat would work, wild game or domestic, homegrown or harvested or even store bought! 

I hope you try and enjoy.

 

Forrest’s Wild Game Marinade

½ cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons salt

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon paprika

½ teaspoon thyme

½ teaspoon fresh ground pepper

1 pinch cayenne pepper

½ cup balsamic vinegar

¼ cup olive oil

½ cup water

Responses

  1. Can’t wait to try this one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

