Posted by: highmountainmuse | October 31, 2009

Under the light of the waxing moon

a cold view on the mountain on a late october day

A cold view of the mountain on a late october day

I step out of the comfort of my cabin and into the cold night air, into the soft radiance of the moon subtly opening up the world in front of me. I pause for a moment and allow my eyes to adjust.  There is nothing else I came here for, but to stand, and stare and be.  I take a deep breath. The smell of wood smoke wafts through the crisp, thin air.  The sound of the river hums smoothly in the distance.  Above me is the waxing moon, and stars, infinite stars, more than I will ever comprehend.  Before me is our mountain, the outlined silhouette of the high ridges I know almost as familiar as the face of my child. The patchwork quilt of snow and melted ground, exposed in a crazy patterns; now soft and dark and grey, now brightly illuminated from the silver light of the moon.  I can see a long way away, over the ridge, to the mountains in the distance, and farther still. In this faint and fine light, I think I see past and beyond, far, far away.  Under the same moon, under the same stars.  I could be anywhere.

Responses

  1. I know what you mean .I am in the same situationonly i do not want to stay . Whether to go or stay .I am afraid to leave the security of where im at . On my ss i could live here as long as i take care of the apts .you have to decide what is best and do it . Forrest is a man now he will give you comfort too.Think of the future you and Bob . what does he want to do .He loves you and i think will tell you anything to help you .Never keep anything from each other .That is something i know a little about .I thank you again for helping me in a very hard time .Take a deep breath look around there are people out there feeling the cold air and seeing the mountains with you .if only in your words . DON

  2. Take my love, take my land
    Take me where I cannot stand
    I don’t care, I’m still free
    You can’t take the sky from me
    Take me out to the black
    Burn the land and boil the sea
    You can’t take the sky from me
    There’s no place I can be
    Since I found Serenity
    But you can’t take the sky from me

    From the TV show Firefly

  3. Richard, I do not know the tv show, but I do like this… very much. Reminds me of something I read once, I wish I could remember where, along similar lines – the only thing they can not take away from you is your thoughts – memories of the past, contemplation of the present, hopes and dreams of the future. We have more control of our thoughts than we give ourselves credit for. So when our thoughts turn negative, we must remember we can change them, too.

  4. Don, you have more widsom and insight inside of you that I think even you are aware of. It’s all around us all, the answers, if we take the time to look and listen and feel. I imagine you do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

