Posted by: highmountainmuse | March 19, 2009

Subtle Mountain

On my snowshoe yesterday, and tomorrow is spring...

On my snowshoe yesterday, and tomorrow is spring...

Subtle Mountain

 

You lie before me

Naked and exposed

Yet cold strong untouchable

As your veil of snow slowly melts away

Revealing your rich soil like warm skin in the sun

Scattered with seeds awaiting the short season of growth

 

Subtle signs of spring time

On your winter face

As you allow the seasons to change upon you

Your silent stare

Cold and harsh as it rolls over your snow covered peaks

 

Yet slowly you let out your breath

And the warm air stirs the land

Scores into your peaks

And sends torrents of brown waters

Gushing down your sides

A muffled roaring still hidden beneath the winters load of snow

 

The seasons emerging on your open hillsides

A metamorphosis upon your land and limbs

Sending you slowly smoothly into summer

 

Your warm intimacy of open ground flashes promise

That I will see your leaves open

And you will share with me your deepest secrets

And your wildest moods

As you allow each of the seasons to come

To go

To take not from you

Effect you not

Just pass over you

 

Let me watch like a voyeur

As autumn spills open

And you laugh too loud in your gaudy display

So fancy for all to see

Vibrant leaves of gold and auburn

Like lipstick and painted nails

 

I am not as impressed

As I am with you now

In your silent subtle secret

Slipping off of your winter coat

And easing into summer

 

The longer I am with you

The more I understand


Responses

  1. You don’t know how long I’ve waited to read words like these, crafted with such beauty that I hid my Kleenex so no one would know I was crying over a silly poem.
    We always visit the mountains when we “get away.” I wrote a poem once, when we visited Sequoia. I’ve long since lost it. Maybe I can try to re-write it.
    I’m not a very new-agey sort of person, but I did something there I’d never done before. I lay down with my ear to the ground, feeling like I could somehow “hear” or “feel” the trees growing….the roots shoving out into the loam. Sort of like the earth is living and breathing.
    I love the way you’ve taken the mountain and given it an oh-s-subtle human quality of a young woman sort of “blossoming.”
    This is writing at it’s best! Can’t wait to read more!
    Elaine

  2. YOUR POEM HAS A TOUCH OF LONELYNESS ABOUT IT .BUT YOU ARE NEVER ALONE . THE THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS OF THE PEOPLE YOU HAVE TOUCHED ARE ALL AROUND YOU . JUST SIT BACK AND CLOSE YOUR EYES YOU WILL HEAR THEM .THEY WILL ALWAYS BE THERE FOR COMPANY . YOUR POEMS TOUCH PEOPLES HEARTS IN THIS TIME OF TROUBLE.PLEASE KEEP ON WE NEED SOME BEAUTY IN OUR LIVES

  3. Thank you, Don. Thank you…

  4. Gin, that made me tingle! Just beautiful. I can feel their strength through your words. Thank you, as always, for letting me visit your mountains in my online life. I always leave refreshed.


Leave a comment

Categories